New Seattle Branch Library Hours

New Branch Hours Start February 3.

Due to budget cuts, many branches of The Seattle Public Library will be open fewer hours beginning Wednesday, Feb. 3. Under the new schedule, 11 branches and the Central Library will be open every day. Another 15 branches will be open five days a week, and will be closed Friday and Sunday.

The reduction is part of a $1.7 million cut to the Library’s 2010 budget due to the continued economic downturn.

For more information, please see this link for the new Branch Library hours www.spl.org/pdfs/about/2010_branch_hours.pdf.

In West Seattle, the 7-day-a-week Library branches are

These other West Seattle branches are closed Fridays and Sundays with limited Saturday hours

  • Delridge Branch, 5423 Delridge Way SW – corner Delridge Way SW & SW Brandon, Bus #120, 125
  • High Point Branch, 3411 SW Raymond St. – corner 35th & SW Raymond, Bus #21
  • South Park Branch, 8604 Eighth Ave. S – corner S Cloverdale & Eighth Ave S, Bus #60, 131

Neighborhood Service Centers Closed (furlough)

Due to citywide budget cuts, Seattle Department of Neighborhoods (DON) and its Neighborhood Service Centers are required to close offices for 10 furlough days in 2010.

The two DON West Seattle Service centers are the Southwest District Service Center at 4205 SW Alaska Street (next to Rocksport in the Junction), the Delridge Neighborhoods District Service Center at 5405 Delridge Way SW.

The schedule is as follows:

2010 Closure Dates for Furlough:

  • Tuesday, February 16
  • Monday March 15
  • Monday, April 12
  • Tuesday, June 1
  • Tuesday, July 6
  • Monday, August 9
  • Tuesday, September 7
  • Monday, October 11
  • Monday, December 2